2 Days in Dublin

Arrived in Dublin on Arthur’s Day – Arthur Guiness’s birthday! So you can imagine the party going on in the streets of Dublin! Since I wasn’t feeling all that great, Wes and my host, Daragh, brought me in food and I rested a while. Then I was ready to hit the streets for a few hours. We had already visited one pub, Tom Kennedy’s, on the way into town. After my rest, we maneuvered our way through the thirsty crowd over to Mulligans’s where I had the best Guiness so far. Made it an early night so we’d have energy to hit the town the next day.

Next morning – we made a brief stop in St Patrick’s Cathedral and saw where people “think” St Patrick’s well was, the place where he did his first baptisms.

Then we walked over to Trinity College to see the Book of Kells, a handwritten copy of the four gospels dating back to 800 AD – very colorful Celtic designs throughout. Several other old books are displayed in the library, mostly pocket gospels from the same era (Book of Dimma – see picture below, the Book of Mulling, and a few others). The entire library was quite impressive.

We also visited the National Museum of Archaeology. Since Hugh did such a great job explaining things on our tour, I felt I was on familiar ground. Great museum!

The evening was loads of fun! Wes and I took a literary pub crawl! The two guides were hysterical and performed scenes from Samuel Beckett’s play, Waiting for Godot, plus a few other pieces like a part from Strumpet City by James Plunkett. Of course we heard about James Joyce, Oscar Wilde, and George Bernard Shaw.

Before leaving to fly back to Edinburgh the next afternoon, we toured the Guiness Factory – so interesting. I really enjoyed learning about the whole process and viewing some of the old advertisements, and of course, gulping down the best Guiness I’ve had so far!

Wes and I hated to leave Ireland – what a magical place! But we’ll return one day!

Slainte!

20120929-235417.jpg

Leave a Reply

