Cliffs of Moher

Last night we met at McGanns (right across from McDermotts where we were the night before – Doolin is very small but a great town with awesome music!). We listened to Carol Lynch on the banjo and Geraldine who sang and played the budhran. This is the way to see Ireland …visiting pubs each night and hearing great traditional music!

Today we visited the Cliffs of Moher… What fantastic views – so majestic! (see the picture below 🙂

Oh, and before that we met up with PJ Curtis, a friend of John’s, who gave an excellent talk on the history of Irish Music…I could have listened to him all day! I did buy two of his books and can’t wait to dig into them!

Well, sad to say this was our last day on the tour (Wes and I will be going to Dublin tomorrow). I never imagined I would fall so deeply in love with Ireland…the people have been so warm and welcoming, the land and ruins so intriguing, and the music – the soul of Ireland – has touched me deeply!

And I can’t say enough about John, Hugh, and all the members of our group. That last evening we met for dinner where we we entertained by Tara Howley, a very talented and poised young lady (18) who played the fiddle, concertina, and pipes. Then we had a go around where everyone shared. There were tears, laughter, songs, and many hugs. It was a such a wonderful group of people – so caring! I feel like I bonded with each member of the group. Really…we were so lucky! As Bill put it, “There wasn’t even one stinky member in the entire group”. Needless to say, it was hard to leave. But I don’t think it’s goodbye – I think our paths will cross again, maybe in Ireland so until then… Safe Home, Safe home, Safe Home may you go …..

20120927-234439.jpg

2 thoughts on “Cliffs of Moher

  1. Oh, my. Reading this takes me right back to Doolin, the cliffs, McGann’s, the sheep, the rocks, the Guinness….our final go around. Our paths will surely cross again. It was a joy to meet you and share the walks home in the dark with you.

Leave a Reply

