Culzean Castle :)

Well, I wrote a VERY LONG blog 2 days ago about the castle but it didn’t publish so here’s the shorter version – aren’t you glad 🙂

I arrived at the train platform in Maybole, not a soul in sight, so I just stood in the rain under my umbrella until finally a spry old Scottish gentlemen with a twinkle in his eye approached me (he so reminded me of my Uncle Percy!) The kind man called his friend, Roger, the taxi driver, to pick up the American girl, then went on his merry way. So my first afternoon at the castle was a bit rainy but then the clouds rolled out and gave way to a splenderous sunset that evening.

The castle, which was built by Kennedy’s (I think we might be related since we are from this area and Thomas Kennedy who came to the states in the 1700’s believes we are) – you know when I toured this magnificent building, I scrutinized every portrait to see if we bore a resemblance- I think so! But alas, although I hoped for a ghostly ancestor to vist me, none did so I can’t be sure!

All I know is that I felt right at home – I could get use to being treated like royalty, not to mention staring out my bedroom window every morning and seeing the endless sea crashing against the cliffs as well as the rich colorful farms fields and forest! What a spectacular view! And my room and bathroom were so plush – even had a towel warmer (must get me one of those!)

My time at the castle was mostly spent walking the grounds, resting by the swan pond, sitting on a boulder on a secluded beach staring out at the sea, visualizing old sailing ships (Ailsa shipping co was started by a Kennedy), meandering through the walled gardens, visiting the deer park, roaming through the decorative rooms of the castle (designed by Robert Adams), chatting to Mary from Ireland during our afternoon tea in the drawing room, feasting on tasty dishes in the dining room during breakfast and dinner, reading Scotland’s favorite bard, Robert Burns, by the fire place, or just staring out my bedroom window at the breath-taking scene before me.

You can see why I never wanted to leave the place. It was truly Paradise on earth! One day I will return to my beautiful castle – hey…maybe I’ll even have my ashes spread here! 🙂

20121001-144911.jpg

1 thought on “Culzean Castle :)

Leave a comment